Schrödinger’s Salmon

Today I had a lovely Sunday brunch with an old friend of mine. At some point, the famous frozen salmon study became the topic of our discussion (if you haven’t heard of it before, you can read about it by clicking this link: http://www.wired.com/2009/09/fmrisalmon/). Our discussion is actually irrelevant to this post. Two hours later, the brunch ended and I drove home. As I turned into my driveway, I saw the same cat I always see on my street. I usually dismiss its existence (pun intended). This time was different. It made me think about Schrödinger’s paradox (if you would like to know more, I highly recommend the book, In Search of Schrödinger’s Cat: Quantum Physics and Reality). As a person who has been interested in quantum theory since the age of 6, I have a tendency to rationalize everything from a cosmic perspective. So now the question becomes…what if the salmon wasn’t dead after all?

Standard