Books Everyone Should Read

Over the last few years, I devoted a lot of my free time to reading. Here, I have compiled a list of my all-time favorite books. It wasn’t easy to pick twenty out of the myriad readings I completed throughout high school, college, and graduate school. The list below includes fiction and non-fiction books that I have read and found to be thought-provoking, educational, and inspirational. These are books that I believe everyone should read at some point in their lifetime, regardless of their age, gender, or profession. Our brains have a limitless capacity to learn new information, so expanding our literary horizons is beneficial. My top twenty books, in no specific order, are:

1. Atlas Shrugged – Ayn Rand
2. Internal Time – Till Roenneberg
3. The Politics of Truth – Michel Foucault
4. The Tipping Point – Malcolm Gladwell
5.  Syntactic Structures – Noam Chomsky
6. Into the Wild – John Krakauer
7. Confessions – Jean-Jacques Rousseau
8. The Double Helix – James Watson
9. A Room of One’s Own – Virginia Woolf
10. Holographic Universe – Michael Talbot
11. 1984 – George Orwell
12. Great Expectations – Charles Dickens
13. Sidelights on Relativity – Albert Einstein
14. Incognito – David Eagleman
15. In Search of Lost Time – Marcel Proust
16. The Grapes of Wrath – John Steinbeck
17. The Man Who Mistook His Wife For A Hat – Oliver Sacks
18. The Prince – Niccolo Machiavelli
19. War and Peace – Leo Tolstoy
20. The Lucifer Effect – Phillip Zimbardo
Standard